NaNoWriMo

NaNoWriMo stands for National Novel Writing Month. Participants should write 50,000 words of a novel in the 30 days of November.
It is my first year of NaNoWriMo. My goal is to finish writing my first novel!

What I am going to write:

The story came to my mind in Singapore five years ago. Although I had completed a degree in tourism management, I had no idea what I want to do with my life at that time.
My previous plan was to move to Namibia. I had spent a lot of time in this beautiful country already. I worked for several Namibian companies and NGOs, and received a promising job offer.

However, everything changed when I got in a car accident in Namibia. I was badly injured and needed a long time to recover. Hence, I declined the job offer.
I went back to Berlin and worked on very interesting projects with many creative, young people. However, I wanted a change after a while. And I wanted to travel again.

I decided to go to Singapore. I had been there before. It was only for a very short time, but the island is very small and it seemed to be a great and safe place for a young woman like me.

My time in Singapore was very exciting. I met people from all over the world, and truly enjoyed the social and cultural diversity around me.

I bought a diary and took many notes. I always loved to write stories and poems, and dreamed of becoming a writer one day.
Slowly, my first story developed. However, I was not very happy with my career opportunities in Singapore. Therefore, I went back to good old Europe and started to study at the University of Heidelberg.

Right now, I live in two countries, Germany and Austria. My first story is not completed yet, but I hope that I can finish it this month. I will post more info about it on my blog and keep you updated about my writing process.

Check out NaNoWriMo and keep on writing!

img_3901

Author: Jen

Hello! My name is Jen. I'm a German student and writer. I created this blog to share my travel experiences, photography and poetry with the world!

11 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo”

  1. I am fascinated with all of your travels. I also love traveling to different cultures and countries. I am also planning on finishing my first novel by January first (getting a head start on my resolutions). Good luck with the writing.

  2. It is so exciting knowing that ambitious writers are tackling NaNoWriMo. Good luck with 2016’s month of November and all the best to you as you work on your novel!

Leave a Reply

